## BOARD OF REGENTS and its WORKFORCE COMMITTEE NEVADA SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION

University of Nevada, Reno Joe Crowley Student Union, Milt Glick Ballrooms B & C 87 West Stadium Way, Reno Thursday, June 8, 2023

Video Conference Connection from the Meeting Site to:
System Administration, Las Vegas
4300 South Maryland Parkway, Board Room
and
Great Basin College, Elko
1500 College Parkway, Berg Hall Conference Room

Members Present: Mrs. Carol Del Carlo, Chair

Ms. Heather Brown Mr. Jeffrey S. Downs Ms. Laura E. Perkins

Members Absent: Dr. Lois Tarkanian, Vice Chair

Other Regents Present: Mr. Byron Brooks, Board Chair

Mr. Patrick J. Boylan Mrs. Amy J. Carvalho Dr. Michelee Cruz-Crawford

Mr. Donald Sylvantee McMichael Sr.

Others Present: Mr. Dale A.R. Erquiaga, Acting Chancellor

Ms. Keri D. Nikolajewski, Interim Chief of Staff to the Board Ms. Patricia Charlton, Acting Vice Chancellor for Academic and

Student Affairs and Community Colleges Mr. Andrew Clinger, Chief Financial Officer

Dr. Natalie J. Brown, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Workforce

**Development and Community Colleges** 

Ms. Renée Davis, Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic and

**Student Affairs** 

Ms. Carrie Parker, Deputy General Counsel Mr. Craig M. Burkett, Deputy Attorney General

Dr. Federico Zaragoza, CSN President Dr. Kumud Acharya, DRI President Ms. Joyce M. Helens, GBC President Dr. DeRionne P. Pollard, NSC President Dr. Karin M. Hilgersom, TMCC President Dr. Keith E. Whitfield, UNLV President Mr. Brian Sandoval, UNR President Dr. J. Kyle Dalpe, WNC President Faculty senate chairs in attendance were: Ms. Tracy Sherman, CSN; Dr. Brittany Kruger, DRI; Mr. David Sexton, GBC; Dr. Molly Appel, NSC; Mr. Ed Boog, SA; Dr. Bill Robinson, UNLV; Dr. Eric Marchand, UNR; and Ms. Rachelle Bassen, WNC. Student body presidents in attendance were: Mr. Pio Rejas, CSN; Mr. Kevin Osorio Hernández, NSC; Mr. Brayson Gomez, TMCC; Ms. Makayla Franklin, UNLV-CSUN; Ms. Teresa Marie, UNLV-GPSA Treasurer (proxy for Nicole Thomas); Mr. Boris Carpio Guerra, UNR-ASUN; Mr. Matthew Hawn, UNR-GSA; and Ms. Suzanna Stankute, WNC.

Chair Carol Del Carlo called the meeting to order at 3:22 p.m. with all members present.

- 1. Information Only-Public Comment None.
- 2. <u>Approved-Minutes</u> The Committee recommended approval of the minutes from the December 2, 2022, meeting. (*Ref. WF-2 on file in the Board office*)

Regent Perkins moved approval of the minutes from the December 2, 2022, meeting. Regent Downs seconded. Motion carried. Vice Chair Tarkanian was absent.

- 3. <u>Information Only-Chair's Report</u> Chair Carol Del Carlo did not provide a Chair's Report.
- 4. <u>Information Only-Non-Credit Workforce Programs</u> Dr. Natalie Brown, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Workforce Development and Community Colleges, presented an overview of non-credit workforce programs. The presentation included general information about non-credit programs, non-credit programs being offered by each NSHE institution, and highlights of specific programs. (Ref. WF-4 on file in the Board office)

Dr. Brown provided a report which included: the definition of non-credit workforce programs; Board policy related to non-credit workforce programs; credit vs. non-credit workforce programs; funding; advantages and disadvantages of non-credit workforce programs; 330 programs offered across the System and the length of the programs (1-2 years); pricing; top five targeted industries: healthcare, computer, medical, operations and business; and program highlights from CSN, GBC, TMCC, UNR, UNLV and WNC.

Regent Brown, Regent Perkins, Regent Boylan, Regent Carvalho and Dr. Brown addressed and discussed the following topics: UNR's Gaming Management Institute and similar programs at other NSHE institutions; purpose of the Workforce Committee; the exclusion of non-credit programs in enrollment data; enrollment statistics for non-credit workforce programs at the NSHE community colleges; and lobbying for non-credit program enrollment to be added to the overall NSHE enrollment data.

5. <u>Information Only-Manufacture Nevada</u> – Dr. Mridul Gautam, UNR Vice President for Research and Innovation, and Tom Simpkins, Director of Manufacture Nevada, provided an overview of Manufacture Nevada, formerly Nevada Industry Excellence, and presented current projects and goals supporting manufacturing innovation in the state. (Ref. WF-5 on file in the Board office)

Dr. Gautam and Mr. Simpkins provided a report which included: what Manufacture Nevada is; manufacturing extension partnerships; NSHE manufacturing outreach; helping students start careers in manufacturing; manufacturing in Nevada; manufacturing clients; manufacturer statements; and the future of Nevada manufacturing.

Regent Brown, Dr. Gautam and Mr. Simpkins addressed and discussed the following topics: skill levels and displaced jobs being replaced; supporting the institutions with establishing clear pathways to assist with filling the skills gap; connecting graduates of the workforce programs with manufacturers in Nevada; and 75 percent of the manufacturers in Nevada are small and medium-sized.

WNC President J. Kyle Dalpe thanked Manufacture Nevada for all the work done throughout the state, especially in the rural areas of Nevada. He looks forward to continuing the partnership between WNC and Manufacture Nevada.

- 6. <u>Information Only-New Business</u> Regent Brown requested staff work to streamline the vernacular used across the institutions for the purpose of mirroring community partners and better defining non-credit workforce programs; and a follow-up discussion regarding strengthening community partnerships with enterprise business and the NSHE institutions.
- 7. <u>Information Only-Public Comment</u> Dr. Molly Appel, NSC, offered comments regarding the non-credit workforce programs and requested further information on the faculty teaching the programs, faculty selection process for those positions, compensation and scheduling.

The meeting adjourned at 4:20 p.m.

Prepared by: Winter M.N. Lipson

Special Assistant and Coordinator to the Board of Regents

Submitted for approval by: Keri D. Nikolajewski

Interim Chief of Staff to the Board of Regents