Board of Regents Appoints Sexual Misconduct Task Force Members

LAS VEGAS – The Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHE) Board of Regents approved the appointments of ten members to a new Sexual Misconduct Task Force.

The Task Force was created and passed into law during the 81st (2021) Legislative Session and became effective in June. It is charged with reviewing the results of any sexual misconduct climate survey administered at any NSHE institution and to provide recommendations to the Board of Regents on how to address sexual misconduct at the institutions.

The Task Force is made up of varying members of NSHE’s institutions, including representatives from NSHE’s universities and colleges, students, victim advocates, and researchers. (See the ten members appointed here.)

“The NSHE Sexual Misconduct Task Force members appointed today represent a diverse background of experiences, knowledge and views,” Board of Regents Chair Cathy McAdoo said. “The ten members, who were nominated and approved by the NSHE Council of Presidents, are committed to addressing sexual misconduct issues across our system and on our campuses.”

The Board of Regents also adopted the provisions of Senate Bill 327, which updated NSHE’s existing policy against discrimination and sexual harassment to include the definition of hair texture and protected hairstyles such as natural hairstyles, afros, bantu knots, curls, braids, locks and twists. Senate Bill 327 was also created and passed into law during the 81st (2021) Legislative Session.

About NSHE

The Nevada System of Higher Education, comprised of two doctoral-granting research universities, a state college, four comprehensive community colleges, and one environmental research institute, serves the educational and job training needs of Nevada. NSHE provides educational opportunities to more than 100,000 students and is governed by the Nevada Board of Regents. The System includes the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, the University of Nevada, Reno, Nevada State College, Desert Research Institute, the College of Southern Nevada, Great Basin College, Truckee Meadows Community College, and Western Nevada College.