NSHE Leaders Appointed to National Boards

LAS VEGAS – Leaders from the Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHE) and Board of Regents have been appointed to serve on several national boards of distinguished higher education organizations.

Board of Regents Vice Chair Carol Del Carlo was appointed to the Board of Directors for The Association of Community College Trustees or ACCT, a non-profit educational organization of governing boards, representing more than 6,500 elected and appointed trustees who govern over 1,200 community, technical, and junior colleges in the U.S. and beyond. Vice Chair Del Carlo’s term will be completed in 2021, when she will have the option to seek a two-year term. She was also appointed to the ACCT Governance and Bylaws Committee.

NSHE Chancellor Melody Rose was appointed in October to The Board of the National Association of System Heads or NASH, which seeks to improve the organization and governance of public higher education systems, to serve as a form for the exchange of views and information among its members and to leverage the power of systems while advancing innovation and change in public higher education.

College of Southern Nevada (CSN) President Federico Zaragoza was appointed to the Governing Board of The Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities or HACU, which represents more than 500 colleges and universities committed to Hispanic higher education success in the U.S. and abroad. Although our member institutions in the U.S. represent only 17% of all higher education institutions nationwide, together they are home to two-thirds of all Hispanic college students. HACU is the only national educational association that represents Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSIs).


The Nevada System of Higher Education, comprised of two doctoral-granting universities, a state college, four comprehensive community colleges and one environmental research institute, serves the educational and job training needs of Nevada. NSHE provides educational opportunities to more than 100,000 students and is governed by the Board of Regents.