Regents Name 2018 Distinguished Nevadans, Regents’ Scholars, and Honorary Degree recipients

LAS VEGAS, Nev. – The Nevada Board of Regents today named recipients of several prestigious honors, including the 2018 Distinguished Nevadans.

2018 Distinguished Nevadans
The Distinguished Nevadan represents the most prestigious award conferred by the Board of Regents. It is bestowed upon prominent individuals who have made significant achievements that have contributed to the cultural, scientific or social advancement of Nevada. Click name to view nomination:

In addition, the following awards were announced:

2018 Regents’ Scholars
The Regents’ Scholar Award is bestowed upon one student from each NSHE institution for their academic achievements, leadership ability and service contributions. Each honoree receives a $5,000 stipend. The 2018 honorees are (click to view all nominations) :

  • Lauryn Guerrissi, CSN
  • Brandon Walls, NSC
  • Kimberly Tran, TMCC
  • Jessa R. A. Li, Undergraduate, UNLV
  • Moinak Bhaduri, Graduate, UNLV
  • Shahil Pema, Undergraduate, UNR
  • Carrie Branch, Graduate, UNR
  • Daniel Lear, WNC

2018 Honorary Degrees
The Board of Regents approved the following honorary degree recipients:

The Regents’ Award recipients will be honored at their respective campus award ceremonies, while Distinguished Nevadan and Honorary Degree recipients will be honored during commencement ceremonies in May in Elko, Las Vegas, and Reno.

About the Nevada System of Higher Education The Nevada System of Higher Education — comprised of two doctoral-granting universities, a state college, four comprehensive community colleges and one environmental research institute — serves the educational and job training needs of Nevada. NSHE provides educational opportunities to nearly 107,600 students and is governed by the Nevada Board of Regents.

Contact: Michael Flores, (702) 889-8426